IUPUI wins 2K Classic Subregional

IUPUI wins 2K Classic Subregional

IUPUILogoNovember 19, 2016

IUPUI limited Eastern Michigan to under 37 percent shooting from the field to earn an 83-71 win and capture the subregional title of the 22nd annual 2K Classic benefiting Wounded Warrior Project.

Subregional MVP Ron Patterson led the Jaguars with 17 points while Kellon Thomas netted 14 points and had six assists. Aaron Brennan scored 13 points, Evan Hall had 12 points and 11 rebounds, and Matt O’Leary posted 11 points and nine rebounds in garnering all-subregional team acclaim.

Ray Lee scored 20 points to lead Eastern Michigan. James Thompson IV registered 14 points and 11 rebounds, Ty Toney had 12 points, and Willie Magnum scored 11 points. Magnum was also named to the all-subregional team.

In the consolation game, David Efianayi earned his place on the all-subregional team by netting 31 points to lead Gardner-Webb to a 94-78 win over Howard. Laquincy Rideau had 19 points and Tyrell Nelson and Liam O’Reilly scored 11 points apiece.

Howard was led by James Miller and his 25 points to earn all-subregional honors. Solomon Mangham had 19 points and seven rebounds, and Damon Collins added 18 points.

As a team, the Runnin’ Bulldogs shot 36-of-62 from the field, including 10-of-19 from three. The Bison were 21-of-51 from the floor.

Share this Post